The content of this site has been archived and the site is no longer being updated.

Members

The 10-member Study Board Applicant was appointed by the IJC in 2007 and is responsible for the overall planning and management of the Study. The Board is charged with undertaking the studies required to provide the IJC with the information necessary to evaluate options for regulating levels and flows in the Upper Great Lakes system to benefit affected interests and the system as a whole. In addition to preparing and disseminating two comprehensive scientific reports (one that specifically addresses the St. Clair River and one that focuses on the Lake Superior Regulation Plan), the Study Board provides semiannual progress reports to the IJC.

The Study Board is comprised of an equal number of relevant experts from Canada and the United States that serve in their personal and professional  capacities. Two co-chairs (one from each country) take a leadership role in planning and implementing the work of the Study Board while two co-managers (one from each  country) are responsible for managing the day to day financial and administrative operations. The co-chairs of the Public Interest Advisory Group also serve on the Study Board.

Canada

 

USA

 

Ted R. Yuzyk
Co-Chair
International Joint Commission 
234 Laurier Ave W. 22nd Floor 
Ottawa, ON K1P 6K6 
Tel: (613) 992-5727 
Fax: (613) 993-5583 
Email: yuzykt@ottawa.ijc.org

 

 

Dr. Eugene Z. Stakhiv
Co-Chair
IJC Upper Lakes Study Institute for Water Resources 
7701 Telegraph Road 
Alexandria, VA 22315-3868 
Tel: (703) 428-8077 
Fax: (703) 428-6686 
Email: eugene.z.stakhiv@usace.army.mil

 

 

Dr. James P. Bruce
Co-Chair, PIAG
1875 Juno Ave.
Ottawa, ON K1H 6S6 
Ottawa, ON K1P 6K6 
Tel: (613) 731-5929 
Fax: (613) 731-3509 
Email: jpbruce@sympatico.ca

 

 

David L. Powers
Co-Chair, PIAG
Smith, Martin, Powers & Knier, PC
900 Washington Ave. 
PO Box 219 
Bay City, MI 48707-0219 
Tel: (989) 892-4861 
Email: dpowers@smpklaw.com

 

 

Dr. Donald H. Burn
Dept. of Civil and Environmental Engineering
University of Waterloo 200 University Ave W. 
Waterloo, ON N2L 3G1 
Tel: (519) 888-4567 ext. 33338 
Fax: (519) 888-4349 
Email: dhburn@uwaterloo.ca

 

 

James Bredin
Office of the Great Lakes Michigan Department of Environmental Quality
Constitution Hall, 6th Floor 
Lansing, MI 48909-7973 
Tel: (517) 335-4232 
Fax: (517) 335-4053 
Email: bredinj@michigan.gov


 

 

Allan Chow
Ministry of Natural Resources 
Suite 338, 435 James St S. 
Thunder Bay, ON P7E 6S8 
Tel: (807) 475-1302 
Fax: (807) 473-3023 
Email: allan.chow@ontario.ca

 

 

Dr. Jonathan W. Bulkley 
Dana Building School of Natural Resources & Environment
University of Michigan 
440 Church St 
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
Tel: (734) 764-3198 
Fax: (734) 647-5841
Email: jbulkley@umich.edu

 

 

Jon H. Gee
Manager, Science Section 
MSC Operations Ontario 
Environment Canada 
4905 Dufferin Street
Toronto, Ontario M3H 5T4
Tel: (416) 739-4129 
Cell: (416) 524-4528 
Email: jon.gee@ec.gc.ca

 

Dr. John J. Boland 
Emeritus Professor
Department of Geography and Environmental Engineering
3400 North Charles Street 
Ames Hall 313, Baltimore, 
Maryland 21218 
Email: jboland@jhu.edu

 


Study Board Co-Managers and IJC Liaisons

Canada

 

USA

 

Dr. Syed M. A. Moin 
Co-Manager, IUGLS
International Joint Commission 
234 Laurier Ave W. 22nd Floor 
Ottawa, ON K1P 6K6 
Tel: (905) 220-6742
Fax: (613) 993-5583 
E-mail: moins@ottawa.ijc.org

 

 

Dr. Anthony J. Eberhardt
Co-Manager, IUGLS
CEIWR-ZI Institute for Water Resources
7701 Telegraph Road 
Alexandria, VA 22315-3868 
Tel: (703) 428-6291
Fax: (703) 428-6686
Email: anthony.j.eberhardt@usace.army.mil

 

 

Dr. Paul Pilon 
Engineering Adviser 
International Joint Commission 
234 Laurier Ave W. 22nd Floor 
Ottawa, ON K1P 6K6 
Tel: (613) 995-0194 
Fax: (613) 993-5583 
Email: pilonp@ottawa.ijc.org

 

Dr. Mark Colosimo 
Engineering Advisor
International Joint Commission
1250 23rd Street NW 
Washington, DC 20440
Tel: (202) 736-9021 
Fax: (202) 467-0746 
Email: colosimom@washington.ijc.org