Board Members

The International Lake Ontario-St. Lawrence River Board (Board) determines the Lake Ontario outflow and ensures that the requirements of the International Joint Commission's (IJC)  Orders of Approval are met. The Board has an equal number of members from the United States and Canada, including one member each nominated by the Government of Canada, the Government of the United States, the Province of Quebec, the Province of Ontario and the State of New York, as well as one additional member on the US side to ensure equal membership from both countries. All members are appointed by the IJC. Board members serve in their personal and professional capacity and consider the interests of the entire Lake Ontario-St. Lawrence River system. They seek decisions by consensus in keeping with IJC protocols.

The Board is supported by committees, advisory groups and support staff.

The IJC restructured the Board effective December 1, 2020. The professional expertise formerly represented on the Board is retained in the Interim Advisory Group. A full explanation on the intent of this re-structuring can be found here.

More information on Board’s function and composition can be found in the Board’s directive.



  • David Harper (Co-Chair)
    Nominated by Canadian federal government
  • Patricia Clavet
    Nominated by Province of Quebec
  • Joan Frain
    Nominated by Province of Ontario

United States

  • Brigadier General Mark Quander (Co-Chair) / Phil Johnson (Alternate)
    Nominated by US federal government
  • Thomas Brown
    Nominated by State of New York
  • Anthony David
    Nominated by International Joint Commission